Making the Commitment!!!!

I hope everyone is having an amazing Monday!! When I begin a new week, I think about all the things that I want to achieve in the week ahead. My to do list is HUGE some weeks (as I am sure many of you can relate to).  Of course, thinking about things and turning those thoughts into action are two different things.  I have to laugh at myself because I have so many things that I want to do and then later realize that I barely got to the third thing on my list.

Part of the problem for many is making the commitment to not only doing something but putting that thought it into action.  Think about how many times you or a person you know have said that they have a long to do list and that they got nothing done on their list.  Oftentimes, the dilemma is finding time to do things on the “list” and actually designating time to complete the task.  That is the missing link for many.

So, part of the question lies in how do you put your thoughts into action.  Here are a few tips that have helped me along the way and may help you as well.

  1. Get out your daily or weekly calendar or print one out for free online (there are so many out there to print).
  2. Get out a couple of pens or highlighters of a variety of colors.
  3. We are going to focus just on this week to start.
  4. Assign different tasks with a different color pen or highlighter.  Example – I use orange for exercising, purple for my bible study, green for my business, pink for personal and blue for other (like gardening, crocheting, reading, baking….you catch my drift).
  5. In your calendar, write down in the appropriate color, any current appointments or obligations that you know that you have to do.
  6. Now, schedule time to do other things that you want to get done this week.  For example, if you want to schedule time to go to the gym on Wednesday night at 7pm, write it down in the appropriate color pen and put it in  your calendar.  If you want to spend time reading, put it in your calendar.   If you want to drink 64 ounces of water a day, put it in your daily calendar.
  7. The next thing is to stick with your schedule.  Make the commitment and each week, spend time planning your schedule rather that letting your schedule get away from you.  On average, anything you commit to and put into action for 20 days will become a part of your routine.

Let me know how you are doing with this task.  In accomplishing this, you may feel that you are getting more things done in a week than usual which will give you a sense of accomplishment.  A little tip – that sense of accomplishment will also give you a self-esteem boost too!!!!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Crafting and Cooking, Goal Setting, Personal Wellness, Positive Thinking, Self-Esteem, Spiritual Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

