Benefits of Garlic and One of My Recipes 

One of my favorite things to use when cooking is garlic!! I love the smell of it while it is simmering on the stove and love the flavor it adds to my sauce (yes, I said sauce!!) and homemade soups.  One of the things that contributes to its amazing smell and its wonderful flavor is garlic’s active ingredient called allicin.  It is packed with antioxidants and Vitamin C & B6 too.

Many people are unaware of all the health benefits that this little member of the onion family provides, so I thought that I would highlight a few of them today.  Whether you cut it up, sauté it, eat it raw or mince it, garlic provides so many health benefits.  Again, I am not a doctor, but I do believe in the health properties of certain things we eat and as the old expression goes, “you are what you eat.”

So, some of the health benefits of garlic include:

  1. Fighting the common cold and preventing viruses.
  2. Boosting your immune system.
  3. Assisting with acne problems.
  4. Aiding with weight loss.
  5. Assisting with lowering blood pressure and lowering the risk of heart disease.

Now these are just a few of the many benefits of adding garlic to your daily diet.  I also want to provide you with my Garlic Dressing Recipe which tastes wonderful.  Try it on your salad and let me know what you think.

Garlic Salad Dressing

4 garlic cloves, crushed

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup salad oil (not peanut oil)

1 egg yolk at room temperature

1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon cayenne

sale and black pepper, freshly ground to taste

1/4 cup dry white wine

Soak the crushed garlic in the salad oil for a half hour. Place the egg yolk, lemon juice, and seasonings in a blender and blend them together. Mix the garlic oil and the olive oil together and mix them together with the ingredients in the blender.  Remove the mixture from the blender and stir in enough wine to thin it to your taste.  Goes great with romaine lettuce.

Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Crafting and Cooking, Health, My Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Benefits of Garlic and One of My Recipes 

  1. You’re post is Great I have Garlic almost every day! The only part of your post I must disagree with is IT’S GRAVY! not sauce 🙂

  2. Almost all of my blog recipes have garlic. Can’t help it. It’s so good!

Leave a Reply

