What Does Freedom Mean to You?

We are coming on the Fourth of July this weekend and I was thinking about the various freedoms that we have and how thankful I am every day for them.  From the Freedom of Speech, the Freedom of Religion, the Freedom to Assembly and so forth.  I am thankful that I live in a country that allows me to have these freedoms especially in times where people are being persecuted for their beliefs.

That being said, how many people feel like that do not have the freedom to do what they want to on a daily basis?  This could range from feeling like you don’t have the personal freedom to do the things you want to do in your life, to financial freedom which includes the ability to become debt free and not have to worry about whether or not you are going to have enough money to retire.  One area that so many people worry about is will they have enough money to pay their bills, pay their rent or simply buy groceries.  Another area that people worry about is do they truly have the freedom of time, meaning do you have the ability to spend both the quality and quantity of time to be with your family and loved ones.  So many families are stretched thin with time to the point where they have little time to have dinner as a family unit or spend quality time with their loved one or spouse.  More families need to place their little ones in daycare because they feel that they have no other choice and spend an exorbitant amount of money paying for it.

When I reflect about all these freedoms, I have come to a point in my life where having not only the freedoms given to me by the country I live in, but having the ability to work on having financial freedom and time freedom is extremely important to me.  So, the question today centers around what type of freedom do you want in your personal life? When I reflect on my life, I want to be able to know that I have the ability to spend time  as much time with my spouse & close friends and not have anyone telling me or limiting me on what I can and cannot do.  I do not want to have a boss telling me when I can go on vacation and what time I can take my lunch.   I also want financial freedom and the peace of mind knowing that my financial future is secure.

So, as the Fourth of July approaches, I want to thank those who have fought and still fight for our freedom!!! I also want to always be cognizant of other freedoms that I want to have my life and center my goals on achieving them.

This entry was posted in Financial Freedom, Goal Setting, Personal Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Does Freedom Mean to You?

  1. You hit the nail on the head!! So many people don’t ever think about Freedom being tied to being in complete control of your life! Thank you for your dedication to blogging AWESOME post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

